‘Scream’ Hits $3.5M In Thursday Night Previews And Earns 90% Audience Score!

Updated: Jan 24



Paramount-SpyGlass Media are "Screaming" at the box office, making $3.5M from Thursday night previews in about 3,000 theaters.


That's swooping in just behind Halloween Kills and A Quiet Place Part II‘s Thursday nights, which were $4.8M each, That’s not a bad pull for a horror movie during the pandemic.


The sequel directed by Matt Bettinelli-Olpin and Tyler Gillett currently carries a Rotten Tomatoes fresh critics score of 76% and audience score of 90% with a total of 648 reviews in, but the hopes is that Scream can screech past anything in the $20M over a span four-days. That would be a nice start over the holiday in a pandemic marketplace; the highest opening over MLK weekend for a horror movie other than Universal’s Mama which did $32.1M.


However, the biggest opening for a horror movie during the pandemic belongs to Universal/Blumhouse/Miramax’s Halloween Kills which did $49.4M back in October. That was with a day-and-date Peacock in-home availability built in. But this weekend is all about Scream!


Paramount and Spyglass Media co-financed Scream for $24M


In addition last night, Paramount held a Scream Opening Night Fan Event at select theaters nationwide, which featured a live Q&A with actor David Arquette, Bettinelli-Olpin & Gillett and Scream executive producer and creator Kevin Williamson, as well as a pre-taped talent intro and extended bonus content featuring the new cast with behind-the-scenes footage. That event took place at 5:00PM PST, 7:00PM CST and 8:00PM EST at participating theatres.


We here at CritiX Media are also hosting or very own Scream Fan Event at Showcase cinemas opening night! Click here