The Critics Choice Awards re-cap, Winners and more!

The Critics have spoken. No, Not CritiX, but the Broadcast Film Critics Association and Broadcast Television Journalists Association handed out awards honoring achievement in movies and TV from 2019 last night at the Critics Choice Awards.

Taye Diggs once again hosted the ceremony this year, held at the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, California.

Although they did not take home the big award for Best Picture, The Irishman, which had a leading 14 nominations heading into the evening. They did however take home a well deserving award for Best Ensemble.

Eddie Murphy — whose Dolemite is My Name won the award for Best Comedy — also received this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award. But enough banter, see the full list of winners below!


BEST PICTURE 1917 Ford v Ferrari The Irishman Jojo Rabbit Joker Little Women Marriage Story WINNER: Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Parasite Uncut Gems

BEST ACTOR Antonio Banderas – Pain and Glory Robert De Niro – The Irishman Leonardo DiCaprio – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Adam Driver – Marriage Story Eddie Murphy – Dolemite Is My Name WINNER: Joaquin Phoenix – Joker Adam Sandler – Uncut Gems

BEST ACTRESS Awkwafina – The Farewell Cynthia Erivo – Harriet Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story Lupita Nyong’o – Us Saoirse Ronan – Little Women Charlize Theron – Bombshell WINNER: Renée Zellweger – Judy

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR Willem Dafoe – The Lighthouse Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes Al Pacino – The Irishman Joe Pesci – The Irishman WINNER: Brad Pitt – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS WINNER: Laura Dern – Marriage Story Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit Jennifer Lopez – Hustlers Florence Pugh – Little Women Margot Robbie – Bombshell Zhao Shuzhen – The Farewell

BEST YOUNG ACTOR/ACTRESS Julia Butters – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood WINNER: Roman Griffin Davis – Jojo Rabbit Noah Jupe – Honey Boy Thomasin McKenzie – Jojo Rabbit Shahadi Wright Joseph – Us Archie Yates – Jojo Rabbit

BEST ACTING ENSEMBLE Bombshell WINNER: The Irishman Knives Out Little Women Marriage Story Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Parasite

BEST DIRECTOR Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story Greta Gerwig – Little Women WINNER (TIE): Bong Joon Ho – Parasite WINNER (TIE): Sam Mendes – 1917 Josh Safdie and Benny Safdie – Uncut Gems Martin Scorsese – The Irishman Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY Noah Baumbach – Marriage Story Rian Johnson – Knives Out Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won – Parasite WINNER: Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Lulu Wang – The Farewell

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY WINNER: Greta Gerwig – Little Women Noah Harpster and Micah Fitzerman-Blue – A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood Anthony McCarten – The Two Popes Todd Phillips & Scott Silver – Joker Taika Waititi – Jojo Rabbit Steven Zaillian – The Irishman

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY Jarin Blaschke – The Lighthouse WINNER: Roger Deakins – 1917 Phedon Papamichael – Ford v Ferrari Rodrigo Prieto – The Irishman Robert Richardson – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Lawrence Sher – Joker

BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran – Joker Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales – 1917 Jess Gonchor, Claire Kaufman – Little Women Lee Ha Jun – Parasite WINNER: Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Bob Shaw, Regina Graves – The Irishman Donal Woods, Gina Cromwell – Downton Abbey

BEST EDITING Ronald Bronstein, Benny Safdie – Uncut Gems Andrew Buckland, Michael McCusker – Ford v Ferrari Yang Jinmo – Parasite Fred Raskin – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Thelma Schoonmaker – The Irishman WINNER: Lee Smith – 1917

BEST COSTUME DESIGN WINNER: Ruth E. Carter – Dolemite Is My Name Julian Day – Rocketman Jacqueline Durran – Little Women Arianne Phillips – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Sandy Powell, Christopher Peterson – The Irishman Anna Robbins – Downton Abbey

BEST HAIR AND MAKEUP WINNER: Bombshell Dolemite Is My Name The Irishman Joker Judy Once Upon a Time in Hollywood Rocketman

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS 1917 Ad Astra The Aeronauts WINNER: Avengers: Endgame Ford v Ferrari The Irishman The Lion King

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE Abominable Frozen II How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World I Lost My Body Missing Link WINNER: Toy Story 4

BEST ACTION MOVIE 1917 WINNER: Avengers: Endgame Ford v Ferrari John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum Spider-Man: Far From Home