The Oscar Nominees are in and 'Joker' leads with 11 nods!

On February 9th we will see who gets crowned for the best in film for 2019. Netflix is looking to shake things up with a total of two nods in the best motion picture category with The Irishman and Marriage Story. Both films were great standouts for the streaming giant but they are facing some tough competition from the likes of Ford v Ferrari, Jojo Rabbit, Joker, Little Women, 1917, Once upon a Time in Hollywood, and Parasite. Are we witnessing a shift in movies with streaming services taking the place of major studios? Find out at this years Oscars.

Makeup and Hairstyling

Bombshell, Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan and Vivian Baker Joker, Nicki Ledermann and Kay Georgiou Judy, Jeremy Woodhead Maleficent: Mistress of Evil, Paul Gooch, Arjen Tuiten and David White 1917, Naomi Donne, Tristan Versluis and Rebecca Cole

Original Score

Joker, Hildur Gudnadóttir Little Women, Alexandre Desplat Marriage Story, Randy Newman 1917, Thomas Newman Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, John Williams

Original Song

"I Can't Let You Throw Yourself Away, " Toy Story 4, Music and Lyric by Randy Newman "(I'm Gonna) Love Me Again," Rocketman, Music by Elton John; Lyric by Bernie Taupin "I'm Standing With You," Breakthrough, Music and Lyric by Diane Warren "Into The Unknown," Frozen II, Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez "Stand Up," Harriet, Music and Lyric by Joshuah Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo

Sound Editing

Ford v Ferrari, Donald Sylvester Joker, Alan Robert Murray 1917, Oliver Tarney and Rachael Tate Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Wylie Stateman Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, Matthew Wood and David Acord

Sound Mixing

Ad Astra, Gary Rydstrom, Tom Johnson and Mark Ulanobr Ford v Ferrari, Paul Massey, David Giammarco and Steven A. Morrow Joker, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic and Tod Maitland 1917, Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Michael Minkler, Christian P. Minkler and Mark Ulano

Costume Design

The Irishman, Sandy Powell and Christopher Peterson Jojo Rabbit, Mayes C. Rubeo Joker, Mark Bridges Little Women, Jacqueline Durran Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Arianne Phillips

Visual Effects

Avengers: Endgame, Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl, Matt Aitken and Dan Sudick The Irishman, Pablo Helman, Leandro Estebecorena, Nelson Sepulveda-Fauser and Stephane Grabli The Lion King, Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Elliot Newman 1917, Guillaume Rocheron, Greg Butler and Dominic Tuohy Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, Roger Guyett, Neal Scanlan, Patrick Tubach and Dominic Tuohy


1917, Roger Deakins The Irishman, Rodrigo Prieto Joker, Lawrence Sher The Lighthouse, Jarin Blaschke Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Robert Richardson

Film Editing

Ford v Ferrari, Andrew Buckland & Michael McCusker The Irishman, Thelma Schoonmaker Jojo Rabbit, Tom Eagles Joker, Jeff Groth Parasite, Jinmo Yang

Production Design

The Irishman, Production Design: Bob Shaw; Set Decoration: Regina Graves Jojo Rabbit, Production Design: Ra Vincent; Set Decoration: Nora Sopková 1917, Production Design: Dennis Gassner; Set Decoration: Lee Sandales Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Production Design: Barbara Ling; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh Parasite, Production Design: Lee Ha Jun; Set Decoration: Cho Won Woo

Animated Feature Film

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (Dreamworks), Dean DeBlois, Bradford Lewis and Bonnie Arnold I Lost My Body (Netflix), Jérémy Clapin and Marc du Pontavice Klaus (Netflix), Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh and Marisa Román Missing Link (United Artists Releasing), Chris Butler, Arianne Sutner and Travis Knight Toy Story 4 (Pixar), Josh Cooley, Mark Nielsen and Jonas Rivera