top of page

NAACP Image Awards 2022 Hosting Six Night Ceremony Leading To Big Night - First Winners Inside!

This year the NAACP Awards will be doing things differently, stretching out their annual ceremony over the course of six consecutive days. Last night, The NAACP has begun handing out its 53rd annual Image Awards and we have the first round of winners.

Winners in non-televised award categories will be announced starting at 5 p.m. PT every night this week on and the NAACP Image Awards YouTube channel, leading up to the televised ceremony on Saturday, February 26. The virtual shows will be hosted by actor-comic Affion Crockett, with Black-ish star Anthony Anderson emceeing the main event, which BET will air live at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET.

Other big-name winners announced Monday night include Will Smith, Stacey Abrams, Cicely Tyson, Sherri Shepherd and Tabitha Brown.

Here are the first round of winners of the 53rd Annual NAACP Image Awards announced last night:

Outstanding Literary Work – Fiction “Long Division” – Kiese Laymon

Outstanding Literary Work – Non-Fiction “The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story” – Nikole Hannah-Jones

Outstanding Literary Work – Debut Author “Just As I Am” – Cicely Tyson

Outstanding Literary Work – Biography/ Autobiography “Will”- Will Smith

Outstanding Literary Work – Instructional “Feeding the Soul (Because It’s My Business)” – Tabitha Brown

Outstanding Literary Work – Poetry “Perfect Black”- Crystal Wilkinson

Outstanding Literary Work – Children “Stacey’s Extraordinary Words” – Stacey Abrams Kitt Thomas

Outstanding Literary Work – Youth/Teens “Ace of Spades”- Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

Outstanding Podcast – News and Information “Blindspot: Tulsa Burning”

Outstanding Podcast – Arts and Entertainment “Jemele Hill is Unbothered”

Outstanding Podcast – Society and Culture “Jemele Hill is Unbothered”

Outstanding Podcast – Lifestyle / Self-Help “Two Funny Mamas” – Sherri Shepherd & Kym

Tune in tonight for the second round of winners of the 53rd Annual NAACP Image Awards! Also, check back here daily for the rest of the winner announcements throughout the week!


bottom of page